English Language Arts

The Michigan Department of Education - in collaboration with parents, educators and business leaders - has developed content standards, or benchmarks, in English Language Arts to assist school districts in the development of local curricula. The Grade Level Content Expectations (GLCE) and the High School Content Expectations (HSCE) provide K-8 and 9-12 educators with meaningful tools to better align what is taught in the classroom to what is assessed at the state level. These standards and more detailed learning objectives are contained within the Michigan Merit Curriculum.

In addition, Michigan has recently adopted nationally recognized standards in English Language Arts and Mathematics called Career and College Readiness Standards (CCRS). The CCRS, implemented during the 2014-15 school year, will provide educators with meaningful tools to better prepare students for success in all of their post k-12 experiences.   


Learn more about the  Common Core State Standards that cover the following areas:

  • Reading for Literature
  • Reading for Information   
  • Foundational Skills
  • Writing
  • Speaking/Listening
  • Language
  • Reading in the Disciplines 6-12
  • Writing in the Disciplines 6-12